Contact the College of Natural and Computational Sciences

Contact

COLLEGE OF NATURAL AND COMPUTATIONAL SCIENCES DIRECTORY
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206
Kaneohe, HI 96744-5297
Phone: (808) 356-5279
Fax: (808) 236-5880
 
BRENDA JENSEN, PH.D.

Dean of CNCS
Professor of Biology
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206A
Phone: (808) 236-3533
Email: bjensen@hpu.edu

 
CAROLYN JONES, PH.D.

Associate Dean of CNCS
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206B
Phone: (808) 236-5839
Email: cjones@hpu.edu

JEANNIE MANZANO
Assistant to the Dean of CNCS
Departments of Math, Computer Science and Engineering
Office: 500 Ala Moana Blvd., WP 4-200-C
Phone: (808) 543-8044
Email: jmanzano@hpu.edu


VALERIE SEO
Administrative Assistant
Department of Natural Sciences
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206D
Phone: (808) 356-5279
Email: vseo@hpu.edu


GARY KARR
MS in Marine Science Graduate Program Administrator
Oceanic Institute
Phone: (808) 259-3132
Email: gkarr@hpu.edu

 

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL SCIENCES
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206
Kaneohe, HI 96744-5297


YONGLI CHEN,PH.D.
Department Chair
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206C
Phone: (808) 236-3547
Email: ychen@hpu.edu

 

CATHERINE UNABIA,PH.D.
Program Chair for Biology
Associate Professor of Biology
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 248
Phone: (808) 236-7921
Email: cunabia@hpu.edu

 

ALLISON BACHLET, PH.D., N.D.
Pre-Health Professions Specialist
Assistant Professor of Biology
Hawaii Loa Campus, AC 206F
Phone: (808) 236-5826
Email: abachlet@hpu.edu

 

DAVID HORGEN, PH.D.
Program Chair for Chemistry
Professor of Chemistry
Hawaii Loa Campus, AC 103
Phone: (808) 236-5864
Email: dhorgen@hpu.edu

 

STEPHEN ALLEN, PH.D.
Program Chair for Environmental Science
Associate Professor of Environmental Science, LEED AP
Hawaii Loa Campus, AC 245
Phone: (808) 236-7908
Email: sallen@hpu.edu

 

DAVID FIELD, PH.D.
Program Chair for Marine Science (Undergraduate)
Associate Professor of Marine Sciences
Hawaii Loa Campus, AC 242A
Phone: (808) 356-5231
Email: dfield@hpu.edu

 

OLIVIA NIGRO, PH.D.
MS in Marine Science Program Director 
Assistant Professor of Biology
Office: Oceanic Institute, OLC Annex
Phone: (808) 236-5827
Email: onigro@hpu.edu


DEPARTMENT OF COMPUTER SCIENCE & ENGINEERING
Downtown: Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd,
Honolulu, HI 96813

STEWART CRAWFORD, PH.D.
Department Chair
Associate Professor of Computer Science
Office: Downtown Campus, WP 4-200-G
Phone: (808) 544-0899
Email: scrawford@hpu.edu

 

DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd,
Honolulu, HI 96813
 

RANDOLPH GOLDMAN, PH.D.
Department Chair
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Office: Downtown Campus, WP 4-200-E
Phone: (808) 544-0244
Email: rgoldman@hpu.edu

 

INSTRUCTIONAL SCIENCE LAB
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 211A
Kaneohe, HI 96744-5297
Phone: (808) 236-5828
Fax: 236-3588


SHARED INSTRUMENTATION FACULTY
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, AC 103
Kaneohe, HI 96744-5297
Phone: (808) 236-5864

Faculty

Allen, Stephen Ph.D., LEED AP
Associate Professor of Environmental Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 245
Phone: (808) 236- 7908
Email: sallen@hpu.edu

Anand, Preetha, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-300
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, WP 4-300-G / Hawaii Loa, AC 224
Phone: (808) 544-1138
Email: panand@hpu.edu

Artigas, Gabriela M.S.I.S.
Instructor of Computer Science
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-F 
Phone: (808) 544-0817
Email: gartigas@hpu.edu 

Ataie, Niloufar, Ph.D.
Lecturer of Chemistry
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 226D
Phone: (808) 236-7915
Email: nataie@hpu.edu

Bachlet, Allison Ph.D.
Pre-Health Professions Specialist
Assistant Professor of Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 246
Phone: (808) 236-5826
Email: abachlet@hpu.edu

Berger, Gideon Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 110
Phone: (808) 236-3551
Email: gberger@hpu.edu

Bissonnette, Martine
Lecturer of Chemistry
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 244
Phone: (808) 356-5855
Email: mbissonnette@hpu.edu

Canute, Michael M.S.
Instructor of Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 250
Phone: (808) 236-5859
Email: mcanute@hpu.edu

Capaldo, Christopher Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
1188 Fort Street Mall, Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, MP 403
Phone: (808) 236-3589
Email: ccapaldo@hpu.edu

Carstenn, Susan Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Environmental Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 215
Phone: (808) 236-5855
Email: scarstenn@hpu.edu

Chen, Yongli Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Natural Sciences
Associate Professor of Chemistry

45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206C
Phone: (808) 236-3547
Email: ychen@hpu.edu

Crane, Ronnie Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mathematics
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 311E
Phone: (808) 236-3513
Email: rhenze@hpu.edu

Crawford, Stewart Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Associate Professor of Computer Science
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-G
Phone: (808) 544-0899
Email: scrawford@hpu.edu

Culver, Quinn Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-B
Phone: (808) 236-5876
Email: qculver@hpu.edu

Davis, Tara Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-Q
Phone: (808) 544-0856
Email: tdavis@hpu.edu

Dawson, Nathan Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Physics
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 311 D
Phone: (808) 236-7909
Email: ndawson@hpu.edu

DeCarlo, Thomas Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Oceanography
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 219
Phone: (808) 544-0231
Email: tdecarlo@hpu.edu

 

 

 

Field, David Ph.D.
Program Chair, Marine Science (Marine Biology/Oceanography)
Associate Professor of Marine Science

45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744

Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 242A
Phone: (808) 356-5231
Email: dfield@hpu.edu

Gefroh, Daniel J. Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813

Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-R
Phone: (808) 356-5238
Email: dgefroh@hpu.edu

Goldman, Randolph Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Mathematics
Associate Professor of Mathematics

Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-E 
Phone: (808) 544-0244
Email: rgoldman@hpu.edu 

Green, Andrew Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Environmental Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 311C
Phone: (808) 236-7906
Email: agreene@hpu.edu

Horgen, F. David Ph.D.
Program Chair, Chemistry/Biochemistry
Professor of Chemistry
Head, Shared Instrumentation Facility
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 103
Phone: (808) 236-5864
Email: dhorgen@hpu.edu

Hughes, Naomi M.A.
Instructor of Marine Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC
Phone: (808) 236-5828
Email: naomi.hughes@hpu.edu

Hyrenbach, David Ph.D.
Professor of Oceanography
41-202 Kalaniana‘ole Highway, Waimanalo, HI 96795
Office: CTSA Building #1 Marine Science Programs at Oceanic Institute
Phone: (808) 236-3563
Email: khyrenbach@hpu.edu

Iacchei, Matthew Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Marine Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 217
Phone: (808) 236-5841
Email: miacchei@hpu.edu

Jacob, Jessica Ph.D.
Lecturer of Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 225
Phone: (808) 236-5851
Email: jjacob@hpu.edu

Jensen, Brenda Ph.D.
Dean, College of Natural and Computational Sciences
Professor of Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206A
Phone: (808) 236-3533
Email: bjensen@hpu.edu

Jones, Carolyn Ph.D.
Associate Dean, College of Natural and Computational Sciences
Associate Professor of Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206B
Phone: (808) 236-5839
Email: cjones@hpu.edu

Kim, Yena Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-R
Phone: (808) 236-5837
Email: yekim@hpu.edu

Korsmeyer, Keith E. Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
41-202 Kalaniana‘ole Highway, Waimanalo, HI 96795
Office: Oceanic Institute, Marine Science Program
Phone: (808) 236-5862
Email: kkorsmeyer@hpu.edu

 

 

 

Lawrence, James Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 311C
Phone: (808) 236-3546
Email: jlawrence@hpu.edu

Martin, Georgianna L. Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Physics
Department Chair, Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206C
Phone: (808) 544-0819
Email: gmartin@hpu.edu

Morales, Christine Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 311
Phone: (808) 236-7907
Email: cmorales@hpu.edu

Naik, Suketu Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Engineering 
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-I
Phone: (808) 236-7903 
Email: snaik@hpu.edu

Nakata, Robert Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering Innovation
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-I
Phone: (808) 236-7904 
Email: rnakata@hpu.edu

Nigro, Olivia Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 247; Oceanic Institute, OLC Annex
Phone: (808) 236-5827
Email: onigro@hpu.edu

OsterGaard-Klem, Regina Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Environmental Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 242B
Phone: (808) 566-2492
Email: rostergaardklem@hpu.edu

Perry, Patrick Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Department Chair, Mathematics
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-B
Phone: (808) 687-7061
Email: pperry@hpu.edu

Powley, Curt Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Computer Science
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-F
Phone: (808) 544-1145
Email: cpowley@hpu.edu

 

Rahman, M. Arifur Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Engineering
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-300
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-300-I
Phone: (808)
Email: marahman@hpu.edu

Smith, Mary L. Ed. D.
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-Q
Email: mlsmith@hpu.edu

Unabia, Catherine Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology
Program Chair, Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 248
Phone: (808) 236-7921
Email: cunabia@hpu.edu

VanderJagt, Jennette M.S.
Lecturer of Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 220 / Downtown, WP 4-200-R
Phone: (808) 544-0832
Email: jvanderjagt@hpu.edu

Vizza, Carmella Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Environmental Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 228
Phone: (808) 236-5866
Email: cvizza@hpu.edu

Wang, Lei Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Downtown, MP 405
Phone: (808) 236-5836
Email: lwang@hpu.edu

Young, Jeremy Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor of Engineering
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-300
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-300-I
Phone: (808)
Email: jbyoung@hpu.edu

Zhu, Yi Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Computer Science
Waterfront Plaza, Bldg 4-200
500 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, HI 96813 
Office: Downtown, WP 4-200-N
Phone: (808) 544-0862
Email: yzhu@hpu.edu

Binas, Precious Lee M.S.
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Email: precious.binas@hpu.edu

Gasc, Anne Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: agasc@hpu.edu

Hauck, Emily M.A.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: ehauck@hpu.edu

 

Lum, Mike Ph.D.
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Email: mglum@hpu.edu

Lajala, Celeste M.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: clajala@hpu.edu

 

Miller, Spencer M.A.
Department of Natural Sciences
Email: srmiller@hpu.edu

McMillan, Jack F. Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
Email: jmcmillan@hpu.edu

Pier, Edward Ph.D.
Department of Computer Science
Email: epier@hpu.edu

Reyes, Donell M.S.
Department of Mathematics
Email: dreyes@hpu.edu

Su, Robert M.A.
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
Email: rsu@hpu.edu

 

 

Taniguchi, Shintaro M.A.
Department of Mathematics
Email: staniguchi@hpu.edu

van Hall, Elsa M.S.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: evanhall@hpu.edu

Wainscoat, Richard Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: rwainscoat@hpu.edu

Williams, Kelly M.S.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: kelly.williams@hpu.edu

 

Baird, Robin W. Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: rbaird@hpu.edu

Bryan, Colleen E. Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: cbryan@hpu.edu

Callan, Chatham Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: ccallan@hpu.edu

Forsman, Zac H. Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: zforsman@hpu.edu

Watson, Trisha Kehaulani Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: watson@honuaconsulting.com

Gilman, Eric Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: EricLGilman@gmail.com

Lynch, Jennifer M. Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: jennifer.lynch@nist.gov

Moss, Dustin Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: dmoss@hpu.edu

Moss, Shaun Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: smoss@hpu.edu

Potemra, James Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: jpotemra@hpu.edu

Patricia Allen
Director of Instructional Science Labs
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828
Email: pallen@hpu.edu

Heidi Reiter
Science Lab Manager
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828
Email: hreiter@hpu.edu

Sidney Wayne
Science Lab Assistant
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828
Email: swayne@hpu.edu

Shannon O'Callaghn
Science Lab Assistant
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828
Email: syoshikawa@hpu.edu

Madeline Sherman
Science Lab Assistant
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828
Email: masherman@hpu.edu

Camila Mirow
F
ield Lab Assistant / First Mate
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828
Email: cmirow@hpu.edu

Naomi Hughes
Marine Biological Technician
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828
Email: naomi.hughes@hpu.edu

Edmund Coccagna
Sr. Research Boat Captain
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828
Email: ecoccagna@hpu.edu

Brian Quinn
University Marine Captain
Office: Hawaii Loa AC 250
Phone: (808) 236-5857
Email:: bquinn@hpu.edu

 

 

Dr. Kosuke Ohgo
Shared Instrumentation Facility
Research Facilities Manager
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 105B 
Phone: (808) 236-3579
Email: kohgo@hpu.edu

Andrew Brown
Boat Maintenance Technician
Email: abrown@hpu.edu