Contact

College of Natural and Computational Sciences Directory

College of Natural and Computational Sciences

45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744-5297
Phone: (808) 356-5279
Fax: (808) 236-5880

 

Brenda Jensen, Ph.D.
Dean of CNCS
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206A
Phone: (808) 236-3533
Email: bjensen@hpu.edu

 

Carolyn Jones, Ph.D.
Associate Dean of CNCS
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206B
Phone: (808) 236-5839
Email: cjones@hpu.edu

 

Melissa Eyre
Program Administrator
Oceanic Institute, Marine Science Program Office
Phone: (808) 259-3112
Email: meyre@hpu.edu

 

Uzoamaka Ogbodo
College Administrator
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206D
Phone: (808) 356-5279
Email: uogbodo@hpu.edu

 

Allison Bachlet, Ph.D., N.D.
Pre-Health Professions Specialist
Hawaii Loa Campus, AC 206F
Phone: (808) 236-5826
Email: abachlet@hpu.edu

 

Department of Natural Sciences

45-045 Kamehameha Highway, AC 206C Kaneohe, HI 96744
Phone: (808) 544-0819
Fax: (808) 236-5880

Georgianna Martin, Ph.D.
Department Chair
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206C
Phone: (808) 544-0819
Email: gmartin@hpu.edu

 

Department of Mathematics

Downtown: 1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 687-7061

Patrick Perry, Ph.D.
Department Chair
Office: Downtown, MP MEZZ
Phone: (808) 687-7061
Email: pperry@hpu.edu

 

Department of Computer Science

Downtown: Finance Factors Center (UB)
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Phone: (808) 544-0899

Stewart Crawford, Ph.D.
Department Chair
Office: Downtown, LB 402-A
Phone: (808) 544-0899
Email: scrawford@hpu.edu

 

Instructional Science Labs

45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 211A
Kaneohe, HI 96744-5297
Phone: (808) 236-5828
Fax: 236-3588

 

Shared Instrumentation Facility

45-045 Kamehameha Highway, AC 103
Kaneohe, HI 96744-5297
Phone: (808) 236-5864

Faculty

Allen, Stephen Ph.D., LEED AP
Associate Professor of Environmental Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 245
Phone: (808) 236-7908
Email: sallen@hpu.edu

Crawford, Stewart Ph.D.
Department Chair, Computer Science
Associate Professor of Computer Science 
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, LB 402-A
Phone: (808) 544-0899
Email: scrawford@hpu.edu

Artigas, Gabriela M.S.I.S.
Instructor of Computer Science
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, LB 402-D
Phone: (808) 544-0817
Email: gartigas@hpu.edu

Davis, Tara Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, MP MEZZ 252
Phone: (808) 544-0856
Email: tdavis@hpu.edu

Berger, Gideon Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 110
Phone: (808) 236-3551
Email: gberger@hpu.edu

Dawson, Nathan Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Physics
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 311 D
Email: ndawson@hpu.edu

Brittain, Andrew Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Downtown, 1164 Bishop St 15th Floor
Phone: (808) 544-0212
Email: abrittain@hpu.edu

Evans, Christopher M.A.
Instructor of Marine Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 110
Phone: (808) 236-5899
Email: cevans@hpu.edu

Burke, Barbara M.B.A.
Instructor of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, MP MEZZ
Phone: (808) 544-0888
Email: bburke@hpu.edu

Fang, Jiasong Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 250
Phone: (808) 236-3555
Email: jfang@hpu.edu

Canute, Michael M.S.
Instructor of Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 250
Phone: (808) 236-5859
Email: mcanute@hpu.edu

Field, David B. Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Marine Science
Program Chair, Marine Science (Marine Biology/Oceanography)
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 242A
Phone: (808) 356-5231
Email: dfield@hpu.edu

Capaldo, Christopher Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, MP 403

Email: ccapaldo@hpu.edu

Gefroh, Daniel J. Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, MP MEZZ
Phone: (808) 356-5238
Email: dgefroh@hpu.edu

Carstenn, Susan Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Environmental Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 215
Phone: (808) 236-5855
Email: scarstenn@hpu.edu

Ghourani, Catherine
Assistant Professor of Engineering
3-2 Engineering Program Coordinator
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, LB 400
Email: cghourani@hpu.edu

Chen, Yongli Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 250
Phone: (808) 236-3547
Email: ychen@hpu.edu

Goldman, Randolph Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mathematics
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, MP MEZZ
Phone: (808) 544-0244
Email: rgoldman@hpu.edu

Costanzo, Angela M.S.
Instructor of Biology and Environmental Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Downtown, 1188 Fort Street Mall, MP 329
Phone: (808) 544-1122
Email: acostanzo@hpu.edu

Greene, Andrew R. Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Environmental Science
Program Chair, Environmental Sciences/Studies
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 311C
Phone: (808) 236-7906
Email: agreene@hpu.edu

Crane, Ronnie Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, MP MEZZ
Phone: (808) 236-3513
Email: rhenze@hpu.edu

Grundmanis, Varis Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Oceanography
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 249
Phone: (808) 236-5840
Email: vgrundmanis@hpu.edu

Holland, Brenden
Assistant Professor of Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 216
Email: bholland@hpu.edu

Morales, Christine Ph.D.
Assistant Profeessor of Chemistry
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 311
Phone: (808) 236-7907
Email: cmorales@hpu.edu

Horgen, David F. Ph.D.
Professor of Chemistry
Program Chair, Chemistry/Biochemistry
Head, Shared Instrumentation Facility
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 103
Phone: (808) 236-5864
Email: dhorgen@hpu.edu

Nigro, Olivia Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
Email: onigro@hpu.edu

Hyrenbach, David K. Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Oceanography
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: CTSA Building #1 The Oceanic Institute
Phone: (808) 236-3563
Email: khyrenbach@hpu.edu

OsterGaard-Klem, Regina Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Environmental Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 242B
Phone: (808) 566-2492
Email: rostergaardklem@hpu.edu

Hyunsun Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, MP MEZZ
Phone: (808) 544-0898
Email: hlee@hpu.edu

Perry, Patrick Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Mathematics
Department Chair, Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, MP MEZZ
Phone: (808) 687-7061
Email: pperry@hpu.edu

Hung, Tim Lu Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, MP MEZZ
Phone: (808) 544-1134
Email: hlu@hpu.edu

Powley, Curt Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Computer Science
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, LB 402-C
Phone: (808) 544-1145
Email: cpowley@hpu.edu

Jensen, Brenda Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
Dean, College of Natural and Computational Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206A
Phone: (808) 236-3533
Email: bjensen@hpu.edu

Quinn, Brian Capt.
Instructor of Marine Science
Master Captain, R.V. Kaholo
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 250D
Phone: (808) 236-5857
Email: bquinn@hpu.edu

Jones, Carolyn Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
Associate Dean, College of Natural and Computational Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206B
Phone: (808) 236-5839
Email: cjones@hpu.edu

Smith, Mary L. Ed. D.
Assistant Professor of Computer Science
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: mlsmith@hpu.edu

Kahng, Samuel E. Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Oceanography
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Oceanic Institute, HPU Marine Science Program Office
Phone: (808) 236-3562
Email: skahng@hpu.edu

Unabia, Catherine Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology
Program Chair, Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 248
Phone: (808) 236-7921
Email: cunabia@hpu.edu

Korsmeyer, Keith E. Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
Program Director, Masters of Science in Marine Science
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Oceanic Institute, Marine Science Program Office
Phone: (808) 236-5862
Email: kkorsmeyer@hpu.edu

Vetter, Eric Ph.D.
Professor of Oceanography
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 250
Phone: (808) 236-5832
Email: evetter@hpu.edu

Lawrence, James Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Biology
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 311C
Phone: (808) 236-3546
Email: jlawrence@hpu.edu

Wang, Lei Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Downtown, MP 405
Phone: (808) 236-5836
Email: lwang@hpu.edu

Martin, Georgianna L. Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Physics
Department Chair, Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 206C
Phone: (808) 544-0819
Email: gmartin@hpu.edu

 

Zhu, Yi Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Computer Science
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Office: Downtown, LB 402-B
Phone: (808) 544-0862
Email: yzhu@hpu.edu

Agrusa, Wendy M.A.
Department of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: wagrusa@hpu.edu

Guiles, Martin Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: mguiles@hpu.edu

Olds, Brett P. Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: bolds@hpu.edu

Bachlet, Allison Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: abachlet@hpu.edu

Harrison, William M.A.
Department of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: wharrison@hpu.edu

Pier, Edward Ph.D.
Department of Computer Science
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: epier@hpu.edu

Baird, Robin W. Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: rbaird@hpu.edu

Ilaga, Roy M.S.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: rilaga@hpu.edu

Potemra, James Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: jpotemra@hpu.edu

Bryan, Colleen E. Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: cbryan@hpu.edu

Ishaque, Azhar
Department of Computer Science
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: aishaque@hpu.edu

Reyes, Donell M.S.
Department of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: dreyes@hpu.edu

Callan, Chatham Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: ccallan@hpu.edu

Kareth-Bryant, Karen M.Ed.
Department of Computer Science
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: kkarethb@hpu.edu

Samson, Donaldine Ph.D.
Department of Computer Sciences
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: dsamson@hpu.edu

Chang, S.L. (Francis) M.B.A.
Department of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: fchang@hpu.edu

Lajala, Celeste M.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: clajala@hpu.edu

Shen, Howie Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: hshen@hpu.edu

Eagle, Patrick M.A.
Department of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: peagle@hpu.edu

Lynch, Jennifer M. Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: jennifer.lynch@nist.gov

Smith, Julia M.S.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: julia.smith@hpu.edu

Feher, Domonkos Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: dfeher@hpu.edu

Lococo, Man Yi (Katherine) M.B.A., C.P.A.
Department of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: mlococo@hpu.edu

Taniguchi, Shintaro M.A.
Department of Mathematics
1188 Fort Street, MP MEZZ, Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: staniguchi@hpu.edu

Forsman, Zac H. Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: zforsman@hpu.edu

McMillan, Jack F. Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: jmcmillan@hpu.edu

Tom, Sasa Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: stom@hpu.edu

Fortes, Miguel D. Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: fortesm@msi01.cs.upd.edu.ph

Merc, Eduard M.B.A., M.S.I.S.
Department of Computer Science
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: eduard.merc@hpu.edu

Watson, Trisha Kehaulani Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: watson@honuaconsulting.com

Gasc, Anne Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: agasc@hpu.edu

Moss, Dustin Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: dmoss@hpu.edu

Williams, Kelly M.S.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: kelly.williams@hpu.edu

Gilman, Eric Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: EricLGilman@gmail.com

Moss, Shaun Ph.D.
Department of Natural Sciences
45-045 Kamehameha Highway, Ste. 206 Kaneohe, HI 96744
Email: smoss@hpu.edu

Yamashita, Bruce M.S.
Department of Computer Science
1164 Bishop St., Ste. 520 Honolulu, HI 96813
Email: brucesheri@aol.com

Patricia Allen
Director of Instructional Science Labs
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828
Email: pallen@hpu.edu

Kristina Smolenski
Science Labs Assistant
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828

Jared Doerr
Science Lab Manager
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828

Sara Severino
Research Vessel First Mate
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828

Heidi Reiter
Science Labs Assistant
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828

Naomi Hughes
Field Lab Assistant
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828

Mark Horiuchi
Science Labs Assistant
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 211
Phone: (808) 236-5828


 

 


 

Nicholas Hoffman
Marine Mammal Stranding Response Team
Stranding Coordinator
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 217 
Phone: (808) 236-3554
Email: stranding@hpu.edu

Grant Hogg
Shared Instrumentation Facility
Research Facilities Manager
Office: Hawaii Loa, AC 108
Phone: (808) 236-3579
Email: ghogg@hpu.edu