Waterfront Lofts


The Waterfront Lofts are located on the downtown Honolulu waterfront, Piers 8 and 9, and border the iconic Aloha Tower that was built in 1926 to welcome passenger ship arrivals. The Waterfront Lofts are part of the Aloha Tower Marketplace, a vibrant, mixed-use residential and commercial center designed to serve the Hawai'i community and HPU students.

The 377-bed residential community is located on the second and third floor of the Aloha Tower Marketplace. The 2nd floor residences are comprised of double- and quad-occupancy bedroom options in a loft unit and a double-, triple- and quad-occupancy option in a studio unit. There are a very limited number of single-occupancy bedrooms, which are not typically available to first-year students.

The 3rd Floor Residences are comprised on double-, triple- and quad-occupancy bedrooms with a central lounge/study area and shared bathroom/shower facilities in each building.

On the ground floor, students have access to HPU facilities including the Learning Commons, the eSprots Arena, multi-purpose rooms, HPU offices such as the Welcome Center, Student Life, Housing and Residence Life, Student Government Association, and Campus Activities Board; the eSports Arena, and various retail and dining options. Living at the Waterfront Lofts also means easy access to many amenities, activities, and public transportation in downtown Honolulu.

All residents of the Waterfront Lofts are required to purchase a meal plan. Meals are served in Pier Nine by Sam Choy, the Waterfront Lofts on-campus dining facility.  

An Intercampus Shuttle departs from the downtown campus starting at 6:30 am every weekday, transporting students to the Hawaii Loa campus in Kaneohe.


Terms and Rates


Step 1 - Log into HPU PIPELINE

Step 2 - Click on the “New Student” tab and the housing application is located in the left column*

*Please note your housing application is not accessible until after you have submitted your Intent to Enroll form and Enrollment Deposit and no sooner than March 1 for first-year students and May 1 for transfer, graduate and visiting students.


Fall 2018 - August 22, 2018

Spring 2019 - January 11, 2019 (for Spring only residents)