Campus Life


Written By Hunter Ferner

March 21, 2023
Share this article:
  • Alyssa Mateo Grafton

    Alyssa Mateo Grafton.

  • Andrea and Yusuf

    Andrea and Yusuf.

  • Star Duran

    Star Duran.

  • Nathan Perez

    Nathan Perez.

  • Contestants in the 18th annual HPU 'Da Shark Show'

    Contestants in the 18th annual HPU 'Da Shark Show'.

HPU held its 18th annual Da Shark Show student talent competition on Friday, March 17, where eight student acts and two exhibition performers gave passionate, explosive, and heart-warming performances ranging from vocal renditions to traditional Okinawan dance. The show, organized by the Campus Activities Board, celebrated the talent within the HPU community in this successful event.

Competitors were scored on the talent, creativity, originality, crowd appeal, and artistic ability of their performances, and cash prizes were awarded to the top three acts of the night. Additionally, the Shark’s Spirit Award was given to the performer who best embodied HPU’s core values of aloha, kuleana, and pono as voted on by the audience.

The performance order was as follows:

  • Shanna Khayat & Cloe Obara performing “Bad Dreams” by Faouzia on voice and guitar
  • Aleah Perez dancing to “Colgando en Tus Manos” by Carlos Baute
  • Kalea Naniloa Jel singing “Never Enough” by Loren Allred
  • Andrea Maminta & Yusuf Najjar performing a mashup cover of “Happier” by Olivia Rodrigo and “Happier Than Ever” by Billie Eilish
  • Nathan Perez performing a taiko drum performance entitled “Akainko”
  • Haven Amick singing “Ocean Eyes” by Billie Eilish
  • Star Duran singing “Hate to be Lame” by Lizzy McAlpine and FINNEAS
  • Alyssa Mateo-Grafton hula dancing to “Queen’s Jubilee” composed by Queen Liliʻuokalani

Following the incredible performances, the judges tallied their scores while audience members voted on the Shark’s Spirit Award recipient and enjoyed exhibition performances by Kent Glover, performing “The Return” by David Hicken on piano, and Noah Hull, performing original piece “Aftermath” on piano.

The night concluded with the announcement of the show’s winners:

  • Kalea Naniloa Jel received the Shark’s Spirit Award for her powerful performance of “Never Enough” by Loren Allred.
  • In 3rd place, Nathan Perez received a $100 cash award for his remarkable taiko drum performance, “Akainko.”
  • In 2nd place, Andrea Maminta & Yusuf Najjar and Star Duran tied for their touching musical performances, together receiving a $300 cash award. 
  • In 1st place, receiving a cash award of $500, was Alyssa Mateo-Grafton, whose hula dance to “Queen’s Jubilee” enthralled both the audience and the judges. 


For more on student-organized events, visit the CAB website for membership information and upcoming events in the HPU community.


All photos by Hunter Ferner.


The Ohana teal logo