MEET THE TEAM

MEET OUR TEAM
Brenda Jensen, PhD
Dean, College of Natural and Computational Science 
Professor of Biology
bjensen@hpu.edu
Jennifer Lynch, PhD
Co-Director
NIST Research Biologist
jennifer.lynch@nist.gov
K. David Hyrenbach, PhD
Co-Director
Professor of Oceanography
khyrenbach@hpu.edu
F. David Horgen, PhD
Professor of Chemistry 
Head, Shared Instructrumentation Facility
dhorgen@hpu.edu
Keith E. Korsmeyer, PhD
Professor of Biology
Program Director, Masters of Science
in Marine Science
kkorsmeyer@hpu.edu
Regina Ostergaard-Klem, PhD
Associate Professor of Environmental Science
rostergaardklem@hpu.edu
STAFF
Katherine Shaw, PhD
NRC Post Doctoral Fellow
katherine.shaw@nist.gov
Kayla C. Brignac, M.S.
Research and Laboratory Manager 
Education and Outreach 
kbrignac@hpu.edu
Raquel Corniuk, M.S.
Research and Laboratory Technician
Social Media Manager 
rcorniuk1@my.hpu.edu
Current Members
Ray Aivazian III
Seed.World Founder
Chairman Surfrider Foundation Oahu Chapter
Lynch Group
Ray@seed.world
Kellie Teague
Graduate Student
Lynch Group
kteague@my.hpu.edu
Jenna Karr
Graduate Student
Lynch Group
kteague@my.hpu.edu
Ilana Nimz
Oikonos Visiting Researcher 
Winged Ambassadors Education Coordinator
Hyrenbach Group
nimz@oikonos.org
Jennifer Urmston
Graduate Student
Hyrenbach Group
jurmston1@my.hpu.edu
Lauren Chamberlain
Volunteer
 HMAR Marine Debris Coordinator
 Hyrenbach Group
laurenchamberlain@gmail.com
Andrew McWhirter
Graduate Student 
Lynch Group
  amcwhirter@hpu.edu
Natasha D. Sawickij
Graduate Student 
Lynch Group
nsawicki@my.hpu.edu
Kristine Joy Sellona
Graduate Student
Lynch Group
ksellona@my.hpu.edu
Alondra Islas
Graduate Student
Hyrenbach Group 
aislasva@my.hpu.edu
Sarah Hutchinson
Graduate Student
Hyrenbach Group 
Shutchinson1@my.hpu.edu
Kate Dolbier
Undergraduate Student 
Lynch Group 
kdolbier1@my.hpu.edu
Granya Boyd
Undergraduate Student
Lynch Group 
gboyd1@my.hpu.edu
Jasmin Diaz
Undergraduate Student
Lynch Group 
jdiaz17@my.hpu.edu
Hanna Mantanona
Undergraduate Student
Hyrenbach Group
hmantanona@my.hpu.edu
Kerrianne O'Malley
Undergraduate Student
Lynch Group 
komalle2@my.hpu.edu
PAST MEMBERS
Mellisa R. Jung, M.S.
Research and Laboratory Manager
Lynch Group
mrjung@my.hpu.edu
Sheena Weller
Graduate Student
Lynch Group
sweller1@my.hpu.edu
Angelica Moua
Graduate Student
Hyrenbach Group
amoua@my.hpu.edu
Angelianne Sophia Recinto
Undergraduate Student
Lynch Group 
arecinto@my.hpu.edu
Joelle Marchiani
NIST Summer Undergraduate
Research Fellow
Summer 2019
Lynch Group
Rachel Sandquist
NOAA Hollings Scholar
Summer 2019
Lynch Group
Rachylle Hart
NOAA Hollings Scholar
Summer 2020
Lynch Group
Kelly Krause
NOAA Hollings Scholar
Summer 2020
Lynch Group 
Raleigh Johnson ( Aiden )
Undergraduate Student
Hyrenbach Group
rjohnson1@my.hpu.edu
Darrielle M. Williams
NOAA EPP/MSI Scholar
Summer 2020
Lynch Group 

center for marine Debris research

c/o Oceanic Institute of Hawaii Pacific University
41-202 Kalaniana'ole Hwy Ste #9
Waimanalo, HI 96795
cmdr@hpu.edu
Follow us: