Arts and Markets

Arts and Markets at HPU

The Bachelor’s degree in Arts and Markets offers a unique, multidisciplinary and multicultural approach that prepares students for careers in music, theater, or visual arts. Secondary areas are possible in writing or multimedia.

Graduates will develop practical skill sets to work for educational organizations, businesses, nonprofit organizations, and government agencies that deal in, represent, or interact with artists and the arts—perhaps in addition to managing a freelance artistic career. Areas of study may include:

· arts production and performance

· history, appreciation, and analysis of the arts

· business as it relates to the arts

· new media and writing in the arts

· secondary, university, and continuing education

Graduates who focus on MUSIC will be prepared to pursue careers at music studios, radio stations, concert halls, arts councils, hotels, resorts, cruise lines, amusement and theme parks, and entertainment law firms. Possible positions include music administrator, promoter, music marketing or operating manager, manager for entertainment and media, music producer, event staff, consulting, studio and/or recording artist.

Graduates who focus on THEATRE will be prepared to pursue careers at theatre houses, acting conservatories, equity playhouses, film/tv production companies, arts councils, cruise lines, amusement and theme parks, and entertainment law firms. Possible positions include actors/actresses, motivational speakers, voice-over artists, acting coaches, drama therapists, casting agents, production assistants, directors, stage managers, dramaturgs, designers (scenic, lighting, costume, etc.), producers, box office managers, press agents, and public relations specialists.

Graduates who focus on ART HISTORY and VISUAL ART will seek positions at museums, (academic or commercial) art galleries, serve as art dealers, art critics, writers related in art and culture subjects in newspapers and magazines, lectures for travel and government organizations, and consulting for dealers and collectors. They are practically trained to organize (academic and commercial) exhibitions, to write exhibition catalogues (entries and essays), exhibition captions, and promoting/marketing works of art.

Located amid Honolulu’s Business and Arts Districts (numerous galleries, theatres, trendy street art and museums), HPU is the perfect location for artists, musicians, and thespians who are interested in the business of the arts. Opportunities for internships abound, and many arts events offer student discounts. An added bonus is the incredible diversity of cultural events,

representing an international array of concerts, theatrical productions, and art exhibits from around the world.

The major in Arts and Markets will enable students to demonstrate:

- creative and technical skills in music, theatre, or visual arts that enable them to perform or manage effectively in musical concerts, theatrical productions, or gallery exhibits

- the ability to communicate and market themselves and other artists to targeted audiences through online and other mass media sources

- the necessary creative, financial, technical, and management skills to immediately succeed in jobs related to the business of music, theater, or visual art

- abilities not addressed in a typical undergraduate arts curriculum, such as grant writing, marketing and advertising, and preparation of a budget

- the completion of a capstone project – a culminating applied experience that requires students to devise and oversee a concert, exhibition, production, or similar event

In order to provide students with hands-on, real-life experience, we provide ample opportunities for internships. Below are examples in each of the three areas.

 

MUSIC Organizations: Hawaii Symphony Orchestra http://hawaiisymphonyorchestra.org/

Hawaii Opera Theatre http://www.hawaiiopera.org/

Early Music Hawaii http://www.earlymusichawaii.com/membership.htm

Chamber Music Hawaii http://chambermusichawaii.org/about-us/

Oahu Choral Society http://www.oahuchoral.org/

Sounding Joy Music Therapy, Inc. http://soundingjoymt.org/web/

Hawaii Youth Symphony http://hiyouthsymphony.org/

Hawaii Youth Opera Chorus http://hyoc.org

Hawai‘i Chapter of the American Choral Directors Association http://www.hawaiiacda.org/

Windward Choral Society http://www.thewindwardchoralsociety.org/

HEARTS – Hawai‘i Education of the ARTS http://www.heartshawaii.org/

Ko‘olauloa Children’s Chorus https://kcchorus.wordpress.com/

Hawai‘i Vocal Arts Ensemble http://hawaiivocalartsensemble.com/

Gay Men’s Chorus of Honolulu http://www.gmcofh.org/

 

Festivals: Merrie Monarch Festival http://www.merriemonarch.com/ Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar Festival http://www.slackkeyfestival.com/ The Hawaiian Steel Guitar Association http://www.hsga.org/ The Aloha Festivals http://www.alohafestivals.com/ Pacific Rim Jazz Festival http://pacificrimjazzfestival.com/us/

UH outreach program (Manoa Jazz & Heritage Festival, Asia Pacific Dance Festival…) http://www.outreach.hawaii.edu/community/default.asp

 

THEATRE Organizations:

- Hawaii Theatre Center http://www.hawaiitheatre.com

- Mark’s Garage http://www.artsatmarks.com

- Kumu Kahua Theatre http://www.kumukahua.org

- Hawaii Shakespeare Festival (summertime only) http://www.hawaiishakes.org

- Honolulu Theatre for Youth http://htyweb.org

- TAG (The Actors Group) http://www.taghawaii.net

- PlayBuilders http://www.playbuilders.org

- Manoa Valley Theatre http://www.manoavalleytheatre.com

- Diamond Head Theatre http://www.diamondheadtheatre.com

- Paliku Theatre https://www.windward.hawaii.edu/paliku

-HPU Paul and Vi Loo Theatre http://www.hpu.edu/theatre

 

VISUAL ART Organizations: Honolulu Museum of Art http://honolulumuseum.org/ Honolulu Museum of Art

Spalding House Bishop Museum http://www.bishopmuseum.org/

Hawaii State Art Museum http://sfca.hawaii.gov/

Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor http://www.pacificaviationmuseum.org/

USS Missouri (BB-63) https://ussmissouri.org/ Mission Houses Museum http://www.missionhouses.org/

Fort DeRussy Military Reservation John Young Museum of Art http://www.hawaii.edu/johnyoung-museum/

Polynesian Cultural Center http://www.polynesia.com/

USS Arizona Memorial http://www.pearlharborhistoricsites.org/pearl-harbor/arizona-memorial

Arts At Marks Garage http://www.artsatmarks.com/

Andrew Rose Gallery http://www.andrewrosegallery.com /

Cedar Street Galleries Koa Art Gallery http://koagallery.kcc.hawaii.edu/

Robyn Buntin of Honolulu Gallery http://www.robynbuntin.com/

The Pacific Submarine Memorial Museum (Bowfin Museum)

  • Application
  •  Transcripts
  • SAT I or ACT Scores (freshmen only)
  •  Application Fee
  •  Letter of recommendation
  • Personal Statement
  • Audition if interested in music ensembles and scholarships:  Choir Audition Packet, Orchestra Audition Packet, Pep Band/Jazz Band/Hawaiian Ensemble Packet