HONOLULU – A student team from Hawai‘i Pacific University (HPU) recently won the Hawai‘i site of the 2018 ACM International Collegiate Programming Contest (ICPC), Pacific Northwest region on November 3.

In the top division (Division 1), HPU bested teams from University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa, UH-Hilo and host Brigham Young University–Hawai‘i. HPU’s first place team, Team #00FF00, solved various problems requiring knowledge of algorithms, programming and teamwork faster than any other participating university.

“We place a heavy emphasis on real-world learning,” said President John Y. Gotanda, Hawai‘i Pacific University. “The contest gives students an opportunity to gain technical experience and build soft skills such as problem-solving, communication, team building and project management, which we know is important to future employers.” 

Coach and associate professor of computer science, Dr. Curt Powley, says “Preparing for and competing in this contest can supercharge and distinguish students’ resumes and help propel their careers.” Showing his pride and excitement for his students success, he added “A recent HPU graduate and program-contest competitor, Jiru Xu, just landed a job with Google, attributing their offer to skills he learned solving program-contest problems.”

HPU has now won the top spot nine times, more than any other Hawai‘i university since the contest was created in 2003.

The Pacific Northwest division of the contest was held simultaneously at six sites in the United States and Canada. For more about the contest, visit https://icpc.baylor.edu/welcome.icpc.


Back row from L-R: Emeritus Faculty Carl Farrell, Tan Hua, Mikaela Gray, Kevin Chevalier, Wesley O’Neill, President John Gotanda, Associate Professor Curt Powley

Front row from L-R: Tai Bui, Christopher Aranda, Associate Professor Stewart Crawford, Benie Agonoy, Isaiah Mina

Students on the winning team:

  • Kevin Chevalier
  • Benie Agonoy
  • Isaiah Mina


Students on three HPU teams representing Division 2 also participated in the contest:

  • Chris Aranda
  • Tai Bui
  • Mikaela Gray
  • Tan Hua
  • Caleb Joseph
  • Zach Kline
  • Wesley O'Neill
  • Rachel Santos
  • Collin Skone
  • Wataru Takahashi