Opitz Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Writing Announced

HPU is pleased to announce the 2018 winners of the Opitz Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Writing:

First Place: Braeden Burge, Multimedia Cinematic Production ’19, “The Mystery of Film Noir: A Preemptive Memoriam”

Second Place: Hajar Tazi, International Studies and Humanities ’18, “A Meaningful Death: An Absurdist and Existentialist Exploration of Ideology and Martyrdom”

Third Place: Dustin Connis, English ’18, “Engineered Odium”

The Opitz Award was founded in 2016 to honor the memory of the late Dr. Andrew Opitz, Assistant Professor of English at HPU, who passed away in 2015.  Each year, faculty members are invited to nominate outstanding examples of student writing for consideration, and an interdisciplinary faculty committee reads and judges all submissions using a blind review process. Many excellent entries were received this year, making the judging process a challenge. All winners will receive a cash prize. Congratulations to these outstanding writers!