Navigation Links

Nancy Ellis Award for Achievement in the Arts

President Chatt G. Wright and former Vice President Nancy Ellis

L to R: President Chatt G. Wright and former Vice President Nancy Ellis.

(Please note that nomination forms for this award are found to the right of the page)

 The Nancy Ellis Award for Achievement in the Arts recognizes one undergraduate sophomore, junior, or senior, or a graduate student who has demonstrated artistic achievement, and contributed time and talent to the arts at Hawaii Pacific University.  In addition, achieving a level of excellence in the arts, beyond the expected, thereby enhancing the overall learning environment at HPU. 

The award honors Nancy Ellis who retired in 2005 as Vice President of Student Support Services.  During her twenty-three year tenure at Hawaii Pacific University, she was instrumental in advancing the University's Art Programs.  These programs include the art gallery, theatre, choral and music programs, and the literary journal in its early years.  Nancy Ellis was awarded Hawaii Pacific University highest accolade, the Fellow of the Pacific, at the May 2005 commencement ceremony.

Using Nancy Ellis' words, ” I hope that this award encourages students, undergraduate and graduate, to participate to the fullest extent in the various curricular and extracurricular arts programs offered at HPU.”  

Description and eligibility requirements: This scholarship is awarded to students who have made an outstanding contribution to the arts at HPU. The 'arts' may include performing, visual and literary arts. Applicants must be at the sophomore, junior, senior, or graduate level of their studies and enrolled full-time with good standing in an undergraduate or graduate degree program. Students must include their artistic achievement and contribution of time and talent to HPU in their personal statements.

Award Value: $1,500 and an award plaque

Application Deadline: closed



L to R: Dr. Teresa McCreary and Madeline Ruhl Ellis 2011 award recipient.

Previous Aull Award Recipients

2011 Madeline Ruhl
2010 Derek Elder
2009 Kelsey Porretti
2008 Kyle Goff