Navigation Links

Robert E. Black Award for Excellence

(Note: Nomination forms are located on the right side of this page)

This award recognizes one graduate student and one undergraduate junior or senior at HPU who have demonstrated excellence by his or her non-academic accomplishments and service in both the University and the community. This prestigious award, sponsored by the University, is named in honor of long-time and former Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Robert E. Black. Mr. Black was also Chairman and CEO of EE Black, Ltd., and was a community service leader throughout Hawai`i. Each recipient receives a $1,000 cash award and an award plaque.

Nomination, award criteria, and student eligibility

Nominations are welcome from any member (faculty, staff, and students) of HPU, including student self-nomination.

Students nominated for the award are evaluated on:

  • Activities and Service at HPU and in the community
  • Personal Values
  • Personal Growth & Development
  • Educational Pursuit & Academic Effort

The award is not an academic award. However, the nominees must be in good standing academically with a 3.0 grade point average (GPA) at the time of nomination. The accomplishments of the student should reflect favorably on the spirit of the University's mission and goals.

Nomination period and deadlines: closed


A selection committee composed of various HPU directors, deans, and vice presidents will review the nominations and nomination packets, conduct panel interviews, and make the final selection to determine the award recipient in each category (undergraduate and graduate).

For further information

Either visit the University Honors & Student Academic Support Programs, 1060 Bishop Street, Suite 600 (LB building), Downtown campus or contact us by using the e-mail link located on the right of the page.


L to R: Tabitha Carreira-Halliwell, President Chatt G. Wright, & Hannes Terber 2011 award recipients.

Previous Robert E. Black Award Recipients

2011 Tabitha Carreira-Halliwell (Undergraduate), Hannes Terber (Graduate)


Daniyal Saud (Undergraduate), Gintare Janulaityte (Graduate)


Sara Ortiz (Undergraduate), Mariam Sambe (Graduate)


Matthew Talley (Undergraduate), Brandi Boatner (Graduate)


Cecilia Kocinski-Mulder (Undergraduate), Jeanne (Wing-Ying) Siu (Graduate)


Eric Hansen (Undergraduate), Jasmine Wang (Graduate)


Sean Thomas (Undergraduate), Heather Elif Pilon (Graduate)


Virginia Hocutt (Undergraduate), Han Nee Chong (Graduate) 


Colette Kuntz (Undergraduate), Bradley Moon (Graduate)


Aaron Kim (Undergraduate), Elin Thormodsen (Graduate) 


Cynthia Lai (Undergraduate), Guilherme Albieri (Graduate)


Jason Kim (Undergraduate), Marianne Molland (Graduate)


Denielle Albertson (Undergraduate), Karen Mirikitani (Graduate


Julian H.W. Tan (Undergraduate), Brad Konishi (Graduate)


Paris Bossert (Undergraduate), Encarnacion "Beeper" Cruz (Graduate)


Marina Suh (Undergraduate), Lucila Morales (Graduate)