HPU Awards 10 Four-Year Scholarships to Hawaii High School Seniors

February 22, 2016

HPUBiz4Good winners and finalists

Winners and finalists of the HPUbiz4good Scholarship Challenge

Honolulu, Hawaii — Ten Hawaii high school seniors will receive four-year full-tuition merit scholarships at Hawai‘i Pacific University as winners of the HPUbiz4good Scholarship Challenge. The new program, developed and hosted by the College of Business, rewarded students for their academic achievements and the development of original ideas designed to positively impact Hawaii.

The challenge began with students posting their ideas on social media, followed by participation at workshops led by HPU faculty, staff, students, local entrepreneurs and social innovation experts, held at HPU’s Aloha Tower Marketplace (ATM) campus. The final competition on February 18th included a set of finalists who produced “pitch” videos, a project proposal, and visual displays of their proposed projects.

The HPUbiz4good scholarship winners and future leaders of Hawaii are:

  • AJ Alcover - Farrington High School
  • Jordan Carley-Windeler - Mid Pacific Institute
  • Chantal Charbonnier - Maui Preparatory Academy
  • Kriselle Fernando - Waipahu High School
  • Elizabeth Fischer - Sacred Hearts Academy
  • Janice Hata - Castle High School
  • Chloe (Weiyi) Huang- Sacred Hearts Academy
  • Brandon Lorezco - Campbell High School
  • Gretchen Padamada - Keaau High School
  • Erika Rykman - Mililani High School