Outstanding HPU students honored at Light Up the Night

May 04, 2012

KANE‘OHE — The Hawai‘i Pacific University community celebrated student leaders at the fourth annual Light Up the Night reception at the Hawai‘i Loa Campus May 2.

Forty-five outstanding student leaders were honored at the event, presented by the Center for Student Life and First-Year Programs. Members and advisors from HPU Registered Student Organizations were also recognized.

Student Honorees

Lia Jamerson Administrative Support Operations
Matthew Wong Admissions
Nathan Lawrence Alumni and University Relations
Megan Willoughby Arts and Humanities/Theatre Program
Aira Pajarillo Campus Activities Board
Stephanie Bibby Cheer Team: Large Coed
Kyle Black Cheer Team: Large Coed
Alison Hutchens Cheer Team: Small Coed
Ashley Faulkner Cheer Team: Small Coed
Regine Gonzales Commuter Services
Brianna Stade Dance Team
Brittany Hoff Dance Team
Esther Smith Debate Society
Maxim Kononov Faculty Support Center
Christina Falekakala Faculty Support Center
Timothy Leichliter Hawai‘i Loa Advising Center
Rebecca A. Zuckor HPU Bookstore
Dylan K. Tamaribuchi HPU Bookstore
Dayna Furusawa HPU Orchestra
Ed Murray Orientation Leaders
Sara Duncan Orientation Leaders
Travis Kahly Residence Life and Commuter Services
Katie Kinney Residence Life and Commuter Services
Alyssa Decker Spirit Club
Emily Guidry-Nguyen Spirit Club
Karisa Taketa Spirit Club
Lindsay Ann Abrigo Spirit Club
Tim Lussier Student Government Association
Adeline Prayoga Student Government Association
Elizabeth (Libby) Do Student Life
Matthew Troglia Student Life
Monica Sweeney Student Life
Jasmine Ternura Student Life
Dyllan Mamasig Student Life
Dawn Steinbacher Student Life

RSO Members of the Year 

Fatlum Rushiti Association for Diplomacy and Military Studies
Kierra-Ashlee Williams-Henry Black Student Union
Lei Navasca Circle K International
Brittney Fitzgerald Law and JADM Club
Chelsey Jones MBA Club
Katie Hillstead OUTSpoken
Starla Takara Polyglot Toastmasters
Christina Torres Psychology Club
Jennifer Lunn Student Nurses Association
Xiaofan Cui Travel Industry Management Student Organization

RSO Winners

Best Rookie RSO - Minority Association of Pre-Med Students

Best Outreach RSO - OUTSpoken

Most Distinguished RSO - Psychology Club

Best RSO Event - Association for Diplomacy and Military Studies, USS Missouri Encampment

RSO Advisor of the Year - Lisa Doyle, OUTSpoken and Vegetarian Club

RSO President of the Year - Joan Joensen, Travel Industry Management Student Organization

RSO of the Year - Psychology Club

Light Up the Night

HPU students celebrate outstanding individuals and student organizations at the
2012 Light Up the Night reception.

Light Up the Night

Lei-bedecked Lisa Doyle, director of Residence Life and Commuter Services, shares
a light moment with Deborah Nakashima, executive director of Student Academic
Services. Doyle was honored as the RSO Advisor of the Year for her work with the
OUTSpoken and Vegetarian Club RSOs.