Natural Sciences

Lab

Shared Instrumentation Facility

Established in 2005, the Shared Instrumentation Facility (SIF) houses the major scientific instruments at HPU and brings together an essential collection of labs, support equipment, staff, and other research resources. The SIF seeks to maintain high functioning research labs, provide uninterrupted access to and training on the instruments, and promote a safe working environment through extensive training and adherence to best practices.


THE LABS

The SIF supports biomedical and other multidisciplinary research and integrates high tech instrumentation into HPU's science lab courses. The SIF includes instrumentation and laboratory space on the Hawaii Loa campus, including cell biology (AC 102A), chemistry (AC 102D, pictured above), and multi-purpose (AC 214) research laboratories. The SIF recently added new labs in the Model Progress building in downtown Honolulu, representing a 45% expansion of HPU's biomedical research laboratories. The new space includes biochemistry (MP 401), instrumentation (MP 402), and cell culture (MP 403) labs. Research in the SIF includes natural products chemistry, organic syntheses, bioassays, toxicological analyses, cell biology, electrophysiology, analytical chemistry, and more.

OUR GOALS

The overarching goal of the SIF is to provide outstanding instrumentation and laboratory facilities to support chemical, biological, biomedical, and marine science research, and to support extraordinary educational activities for HPU students. Specifically, the SIF seeks to


  • Support state-of-the-art instrumentation and research labs at HPU to cultivate innovative and forward-looking research, while creating exceptional student research opportunities
  • Integrate the same high tech scientific instruments into our teaching labs to provide direct hands-on experience to all students in our laboratory courses
  • Provide training that promotes safe and effective use of the facilities
  • Provide our expertise to support and enrich student and faculty research

The SIF represents an excellent example of synergy between extramurally funded research and academics. We have developed our research enterprise to the benefit of our students, allowing them to use high tech instrumentation and gain valuable research experience as they progress through our academic programs.

OUR FUNDING

The SIF is funded largely by the National Institutes of Health IDeA Network for Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE) grant, which is intended to expand and develop Hawaii's competitive biomedical research capacity. The facility has also received support from the National Science Foundation's Major Research Instrumentation.

OUR PEOPLE

Consortium Principal Investigator
F. David Horgen, Ph.D. (dhorgen@hpu.edu)

Contributing Faculty
Yongli Chen, Ph.D. (ychen@hpu.edu)
Gideon Berger, Ph.D. (gberger@hpu.edu)
Lei Wang, Ph.D. (lwang@hpu.edu)
Jiasong Fang, Ph.D. (jfang@hpu.edu)
Susan Carstenn, Ph.D. (scarstenn@hpu.edu)

Research Facilities Manager
Grant Hogg, M.S. (ghogg@hpu.edu)

Research Associate (Model Progress Building)
Melissa Boldridge (mboldridge@hpu.edu)

Research Assistants
Samantha Avina
Ciera McQuaid
Crista Chow