MerryAnn Jancovic Award in Psychology

MerryAnn Jancovic Award in Psychology

HPU is pleased to announce the first annual MerryAnn Jancovic Award in Psychology. The University offers this scholarship to degree-seeking Psychology students who have demonstrated the highest principles of service to others, as a caring person seeking to relieve pain and suffering through volunteer service, internship, or an equivalent activity in the community. The scholarship amount is up to $2,000. Please forward this announcement to Psychology majors and announce in your classes. Applicants must be majoring in Psychology – see eligibility requirements below.

This award honors Dr. MerryAnn Jancovic, who was Associate Professor of Psychology. A long-time and highly-respected member of the faculty, Dr. Jancovic’s tenure began in the early days of Hawai'i Loa College and continued with Hawai‘i Pacific University. She lived in Hawai‘i for 28 years.  Originally from Chicago, she graduated from Vassar College and received the Ph.D. in Developmental Psychology from Clark University. Dr. Jancovic was much loved and highly respected by students and faculty colleagues who gave high praise to her excellence as a teacher. And she was a gifted psychotherapist who was known for her dedication to serving others – to relieving human pain and suffering and to promoting healing. She was also a pianist and a horsewoman. And she was well-known for her brilliance, her commitment to excellence, and a grand sense of humor shared with students, colleagues, and friends alike. Dr. Jancovic passed away in the Spring of 2009.

Application information can be found here

Download the application here.

Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Undergraduate applicants must be a full-time student at HPU.
  2. Major in Psychology.
  3. Minimum 3.50 grade point average (GPA).
  4. Two (2) letters of recommendation.
  5. Submit an essay of 300 to 500 words.
  6. Demonstrate the highest principles of service.

Some important details:
Due Date for Applications: December 2, 2015 – at 8 AM. No later!!!
Announcement of Awards: We hope by the end of December, 2015
Submit copies of application with letter(s) electronically to:

1) HPU Scholarship Office:
2) HPU Psychology faculty selection committee: Dr. Brian Metcalf ( and Dr. Nancy Hedlund ( )

Award term: These are scholarship awards only good toward tuition (not cash) for Spring 2016.

If you qualify, you are invited to submit an application AS SOON AS POSSIBLE for up to two awards that will be given for Spring tem 2016. These tuition waiver awards are planned to be worth $2000 each. You will need to act QUICKLY as applications require a letter of recommendation from a reference (preferably a Psychology faculty member who knows you well). Please give them sufficient time! Do not ask for a letter from Dr. Metcalf or Dr. Hedlund; as they are on the selection committee and therefore ineligible to provide letters of support.

Please direct questions to Dr. Metcalf ( or Dr. Hedlund ( And PLEASE APPLY if you believe you qualify.