History Department News

University of Hawaii Army ROTC Fall 2011 Commissioning Ceremony- December 19

Associate Vice President Cyboron represented HPU as part of the official party at the UH ROTC Commissioning Ceremony on board the USS Missouri Battleship Memorial the “Mighty MO.”  Six of the ten cadets commissioned as Second Lieutenants, U.S. Army, are HPU graduates.  History Department Adjunct Professor General  David  A . Bramlett, US Army (Ret), was the guest speaker and delivered The Oath of Office to the new Army officers.  The six HPU cadets commissioned as Second Lieutenants are: 

(1)    Iakopo Kataferu Seumalo, Jr (BA Political Science and English)

(2)    Laura  Elizabeth Gafken (BS Nursing)

(3)    Julice Nohea Kelii Silva Ubando (BS Nursing)

(4)    Jenny Abbie Olson (BA Human Resource Management)

(5)    Adam Chance Sitzler (BA Political Science)

(6)    Angelo Talitua  Uele (BSBA Computer Information Systems)

Associate Vice President Cyboron presented the Distinguished Military Graduate Awards to four cadets in recognition for being in the top 20% of Army ROTC graduates in the country.  Three of the four awardees were HPU graduates:  2nd Lts Olson, Sitzler and Uele.