Hawai'i High School Writing Award Winners

We are pleased to present a listing of winners for the annual Hawai'i High School Writing Awards Competition.


First Place: Jiaxin Lin, Sacred Hearts Academy, Growing a Sustainable Future
Second Place: Shane-Justin Nu'uhiwa, Kamehameha Schools-Kapalama, Islands of Sustainability: The Path to a Green Future"
Third Place: Taylor Hori, Seabury Hall, My Kuleana


First Place: Crescent Cheng, Punahou School, Much is Expected: Legacy of Punahou Carnival
Second Place: Caitlin Thomas, La Pietra High School for Girls, The Gathering Place
Third Place: Allia Alliata, La Pietra High School for Girls, The Living Will


First Place: Britney Ann Silva, Kamehameha Schools-Hawai'i, The Legacy of a Signature
Second Place: Emily Farm, Kamehameha Schools-Maui, How Should We Live?
Third Place: Sarah Burke, Honolulu Waldorf School, The Apology: Who's Land is This?


First Place: Andrew Pa'aluhi, Kamehameha Schools, The Significance of the Hawaiian Renaissance
Second Place: Trevor Hamilton, Seabury Hall, Superferry or Superfolly? How a Ferry Service Designed to Unify Hawai'i Cause a Chasm Between Our Islands and People
Third Place: Cody Tacderas, Lana'i High School, Between the Cultures


First Place: Larissa Nordyke, Punahou School, Oahu's North Shore: No Longer Paradise
Second Place: Alyssa Simbahon, Iolani School, "Pulling Out is a Must"
Third Place: Lisa Fong, Sacred Hearts Academy, Protecting Hawaii's Indigenous Species


First Place: Tani Fujimoto, Sacred Hearts Academy, Buy Nothing Day: The fight to preserve Hawai'i's social and cultural fabric.
Second Place: Hyatt Bailey, Punahou School, Free for You, Sick for Them.
Third Place: Jenna Tamashiro, Iolani School, Hawai'i Revolutionized: A look into the ILWU.


First Place: Patricia Ann Ward, Sacred Hearts High School, Mom and Pop Stores Maintain Hawaiian Heritage.
Second Place: Sheela Jane Menon, Sacred Hearts High School, A Balancing Act.
Third Place: Jourdene Rosella Cruz Aguon, James Campbell High School, Volcanoes, Economic?


First Place: Jeffrey Todd Lawi, End of the Rainbow.
Second Place: Calla Lee Luera, The Difference.
Third Place: Allison Brown, He'e Nalu: Hawai'i Gift of Surfing.


First Place: Tiffany Chung, Hawai'i's Charm Overcomes America's Foreign Policy. Dana Fassler, Of Pidgin and Pop-pops.
Second Place: Mark Dahilig, Hawai'i's Airlines and the State's Uncertain Economic Future. Kimi Kilantan, A Silver Living for O'ahu.
Third Place: Kevin Hirako, Okinawan Immigration: Shaping the Diversity of Hawai'i. Tessa Munekiyo, The Great Sugar Strike of 1946.


First Place: Stephanie Kealakai Soares, Kamehameha Schools, Economic Principles and the Hawaiian Ipu.
Second Place: Kellie O'Neil Palakika James, Punahou High School, Women in Hawai'i's Corporate Culture.
Third Place: Mia Foster Akau, Honokaa High School, Full of Aloha. 


First Place: Mishalla Joy Mei-Lan Spearing, Radford High School, Poetry in Motion.
Second Place: Tatjana Anne Johnson, Radford High School, From Head to Knee?
Third Place: Dawoon Kang, Sacred Hearts Academy, The Xerox Massacre Impacts Hawai'i and Its People. 


Stacy Chang, University Laboratory School
Deanna Izuka, Radford High School
Bradley Yi, Punahou School


Janelle Jinbow, Punahou School
Constance Collins, Radford High School
Nicole Mizushima, Roosevelt High School 


JDarryl Fox, Radford High School
Sharon Agsalda, Waialua Intermediate and High School
Kimberly Hubbard, Aiea High School