Faculty and Staff

Natural Sciences Faculty

Full Time Faculty

Stephen Allen, Ph.D., LEED AP (sallen@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Environmental Science
Program Chair, Environmental Science/Studies

Gideon Berger, Ph.D. (gberger@hpu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Program Chair, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Brian Bozlee, Ph.D. (bbozlee@hpu.edu)
Senior Chemistry Lecturer

Andrew Brittain, Ph.D. (abrittain@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Biology
Faculty Teaching Fellow

Michael Canute, M.S. (mcanute@hpu.edu)
Instructor of Biology

Susan Carstenn, Ph.D. (scarstenn@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Environmental Science

Yongli Chen, Ph.D. (ychen@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Chemistry

Angela Costanzo, M.S. (acostanzo@hpu.edu)
Instructor of Biology and Environmental Science

Steven Dye, Ph.D. (sdye@hpu.edu)
Professor of Physics

Christopher Evans, M.A. (cevans@hpu.edu)
Instructor of Marine Science

Jiasong Fang, Ph.D. (jfang@hpu.edu)
Professor of Chemistry

David B. Field, Ph.D. (dfield@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Marine Science

Valerie Franck, Ph.D. (vfranck@hpu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Biology

Andrew R. Greene, Ph.D. (agreene@hpu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Environmental Science

Varis Grundmanis, Ph.D. (vgrundmanis@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Oceanography

F. David Horgen, Ph.D. (dhorgen@hpu.edu)
Professor of Chemistry
Head, Shared Instrumentation Facility

K. David Hyrenbach, Ph.D. (khyrenbach@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Oceanography

Brenda Jensen, Ph.D. (bjensen@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Biology
Associate Dean, College of Natural and Computational Sciences

Carolyn Jones, Ph.D. (choll@hpu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Biology
Department Chair, Natural Sciences
Program Chair, Biology

Samuel Kahng, Ph.D. (skahng@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Oceanography

Keith Korsmeyer, Ph.D. (kkorsmeyer@hpu.edu)
Professor of Biology

James Lawrence, Ph.D. (jlawrence@hpu.edu)
Biology Lecturer

Georgianna L. Martin, Ph.D. (gmartin@hpu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Physics

Regina Ostergaard-Klem, Ph.D. (rostergaardklem@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Environmental Science

Brian Quinn, Capt. (bquinn@hpu.edu)
Instructor of Marine Science
Master Captain, R.V. Kaholo

Catherine Unabia, Ph.D. (cunabia@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Biology

Eric Vetter, Ph.D. (evetter@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Oceanography
Program Chair, Marine Science (Marine Biology/Oceanography)

Lei Wang, Ph.D. (lwang@hpu.edu)
Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Kristi West, Ph.D. (kwest@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Biology and Marine Science

Chris Winn, Ph.D. (cwinn@hpu.edu)
Associate Professor of Oceanography
Program Director, Master of Science in Marine Science

Affiliate Faculty

Robin W. Baird, Ph.D. (rbaird@hpu.edu)
Research Biologist Cascadia Research Collective,
Olympia, WA

Colleen E. Bryan, Ph.D. (cbryan@hpu.edu)
Research Biologist, National Institute of
Standards and Technology
Charleston, SC

Chatham Callan, Ph.D. (ccallan@hpu.edu)
Finfish Research Scientist, Oceanic Institute
Waimanalo, HI

Zac H. Forsman, Ph.D. (zforsman@hpu.edu)
Hawaii Institute of Marine Biology, Postdoctoral Fellow,
Kaneohe, HI

Eric Gilman, Ph.D. (EricLGilman@gmail.com)
Biodiversity and Fisheries Research Scientist,
Honolulu, HI

Jennifer M. Lynch, Ph.D. (jennifer.lynch@nist.gov)
Research Biologist, National Institute of
Standards and Technology
Kaneohe, HI

James Potemra, Ph.D. (jpotemra@hpu.edu)
Hawaii Institute of Geophysics and Planetology
at the University of Hawaii
Manoa, HI


Adjunct Faculty

Allison Bachlet, Ph.D.
Email: abachlet@hpu.edu
Leon Geschwind, M.S.
Email: lgeschwind@hpu.edu
David M. Lamb, Ph.D.
Email: dlamb@hpu.edu
Susan Bolman, M.D.
Email: sbolman@hpu.edu
William Gosnell, Ph.D.
Email: wgosnell@hpu.edu
Jack F. McMillan, Ph.D
Email: jmcmillain@hpu.edu
David Cunningham
Email: dcunningham@hpu.edu
Spencer Hamada, Ph.D.
Email: shamada@hpu.edu
Dustin R. Moss, Ph.D.
Email: dmoss@hpu.edu
Keith Earnshaw, Ph.D.
Email:kearnshaw@hpu.edu
Darrow Hand, Ph.D.
Email: dhand@hpu.edu
James Salvail, Ph.D.
Email: jsalvail@hpu.edu
Domonkos Feher, Ph.D.
Email: dfeher@hpu.edu
Roy Ilaga, Ph.D.
Email: rilaga@hpu.edu
Barbara Saunders-Price, Ph.D.
Email: bsaundersprice@hpu.edu
Vilma Fermin, M.S.
Email: vfermin@hpu.edu
Jessica Jacob, M.S.
Email: jjacob@hpu.edu
Jeffrey Tibbitt, Ph.D.
Email: jtibbitt@hpu.edu
Anne Gasc, Ph.D.
Email: agasc@hpu.edu
Celeste Lajala, M.D.
Email: clajala@hpu.edu