Department of Social Sciences Faculty

Robert Borofsky, Ph.D.

Robert Borofsky, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology
Cultural Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, Pacific Ethnography and History
Tel: 543-8020
borofsky@hpu.edu

Patrick Bratton, Ph.D. Patrick Bratton, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Political Science
Program Chair, Diplomacy and Military Studies Program
International Relations, France and India, National Security, Foreign Policy
MP-302 Tel: 544-1466
pbratton@hpu.edu

Grace Cheng, Ph.D.

Grace Cheng, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Political Science
Comparative Politics, Human Rights, Islam and Politics, China, Vietnam
MP-308 Tel: 544-9384
gcheng@hpu.edu

Lynette Cruz

Lynette Hi‘ilani Cruz, Ph.D.
Kupuna-in-Residence
Cultural Anthropology, Hawaiian Studies

palolo@hawaii.rr.com

Topher Erickson

Topher Erickson, Ph.D.
Lecturer in Anthropology
Cultural Anthropology, Poverty and Culture, Taboos
MP-301; Tel: 544-1413
terickson@hpu.edu

Gregory Gaydos, Ph.D.

Gregory Gaydos, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Political Science
American Politics, Politics and Film
MP-304 Tel: 544-0260
ggaydos@hpu.edu

Carlos Juarez Carlos Juárez, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
Chair, Department of Social Sciences
Program Chair, International Studies
Comparative Politics, International Political Economy, Global Governance, Europe, Latin America
MP-305 Tel: 566-2493
cjuarez@hpu.edu
Gordon Knowles

Gordon Knowles, Jr., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
Intro to Sociology, Social Problems and Policy, Sociology of Terrorism
MP-314 Tel: 544-1140
gknowles@hpu.edu

Seung-Kyun Ko

Seung-Kyun Ko, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
American and Comparative Politics, American Foreign Policy, East Asian International Relations, Korea
MP-312 Tel: 544-0896
sko@hpu.edu

 David Lenoue, Ph.D. David J. Lanoue, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
Dean of Humanities and Social Sciences
American Politics, U.S. Presidency
FS-200  Tel: 544-0228
dlanoue@hpu.edu

Serge Marek

Serge Marek, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Geography
Human Geography, Cultural/Social Geography, Urban Geography, Tourism Geography, and Oceania
MP-307 Tel: 544-1415
smarek@hpu.edu

Mel Masuda

Mel Masuda, J.D.
Instructor of Justice Administration
MP-314 Tel: 544-0295
mmasuda@hpu.edu

Ayesha Nibbe

Ayesha Nibbe, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Cultural Anthropology, Development, Food, Africa, Latin America, South Asia
MP-301 Tel: 687-7063
anibbe@hpu.edu

James Primm, Ph.D.

James Primm, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Political Science
International Relations and Politics of Terrorism
MP-304 Tel: 544-1470
jprimm@hpu.edu

Art Whatley Art Whatley, Ph.D. 
Professor of Sustainability and Management
MP-303 Tel: 566-2490
awhatley@hpu.edu