Department of Languages and Applied Linguistics Faculty

Full-Time Faculty

Charles Boyer, Ph.D.

Charles Boyer, Ph.D.
Languages and Applied Linguistics Department Chair
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Spanish language, literature and culture
FS 100 Tel: 356-5208
cboyer@hpu.edu

Kenneth Cook, Ph.D. Kenneth Cook, Ph.D.
Program Chair for Graduate MATESOL
Professor of Linguistics
Cognitive and general linguistics, phonology, syntax, semantics,
Romance and Polynesian languages and linguistics
MP 405 Tel: 544-0294
kcook@hpu.edu
Alice B. Dong, Ph.D. Alice B. Dong, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Chinese
MP 248 Tel: 544-0289
adong@hpu.edu
Barbara Hannum

Barbara Hannum
Assistant Professor of Applied Linguistics
English for specific purposes (ESP), curriculum design,
materials development, and practica
MP 247 Tel: 544-0255
bhannum@hpu.edu

Jean Kirschenmann Jean Kirschenmann
Program Chair for TESOL
Assistant Professor of Applied Linguistics
Pedagogy, practica, EFL, general linguistics,
teaching children, materials development 
MP 251 Tel: 544-1111
jkirschenmann@hpu.edu
Edward Klein, Ph.D. Edward Klein, Ph.D.
Professor of Applied Linguistics
General linguistics, phonology, sociolinguistics, pidgins and creoles,
history of the English language, practica, and program administration
MP 242 Tel: 544-1480
eklein@hpu.edu
Young Shin Kubota Young Shin Kubota
Assistant Professor of Japanese and Korean
Japanese and Korean languages
MP 251 Tel: 544-0226
ykubota@hpu.edu
Teresa Lane Teresa Lane
Assistant Professor of Spanish and TESOL
Spanish language, applied linguistics, sociolinguistics, and technology.
MP 249 Tel: 356-5212
tlane@hpu.edu
Candis Lee

Candis Lee, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor of Applied Linguistics (retired)
English for specific purposes (ESP), theoretical issues in language teaching,
practica, materials development, writing in ESL  
MP 250 Tel:544-0294
clee@hpu.edu

Tracie Lopes

Tracie Lopes
Instructor of Hawaiian
MP 248 Tel: 544-0889
tlopes@hpu.edu

Hahn Nguyen, Ph.D. Hanh Nguyen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Applied Linguistics
Second language acquisition, computer-assisted language learning (CALL),
assessment, discourse analysis, development of interactional competence,
sociolinguistics
MP 250 Tel: 544-1122
hnguyen@hpu.edu
Sadaji Oi Sadaji Oi
Instructor of Japanese
Japanese language
MP 257 Tel: 356-5213
soi@hpu.edu
Sarah Pouzet Sarah Pouzet
Instructor of French
French language
MP 249 Tel: 544-0832
spouzet@hpu.edu
Brian D. Rugen

Brian Rugen, Ph.D. 

Assistant Professor of Applied Linguistics
Second language writing, English for academic purposes (EAP),
curriculum/materials development, narrative inquiry
MP 257 Tel: 544-1156
brugen@hpu.edu