James Vaughan Award for Poetry

Hawai‘i Pacific University’s James Vaughan Award for Poetry began in 2000 and was established by a generous contribution from Mr. James A. Vaughan, a former student of HPU faculty member Ms. Adele NeJame, who wished to support poetry at HPU and in the community at large. Adele Ne Jame, assistant professor and award winning poet, coordinates and judges the contest. Submissions are accepted September through December 30.  Those submitting must have lived in Hawai'i for at least one year.  Submissions are limited to 3 unpublished poems, up to 60 lines each. Hard copy only.  No names should appear on poems, but provide a cover letter listing titles, contact information and a short, five-line biography.  Mail to: James A Vaughan Award for Poetry,  1188 Fort Street, Honolulu, HI 96813

The winning poet will receive $250. publication in Hawai'i Pacific Review, and an opportunity to give a celebratory reading at the Koolau Writer's Workshop during spring semester.

2013 winner announced

Cassandra Aoki has been chosen as the 2013 winner.  She will give a reading in April 2013 in Warmer Auditorium.

James Vaughan Poetry Award Winners 2001-2012

Constance Wright 2001
Brandy McDougall 2002
Dawn Fraser Kawahara 2003
Michael Shapiro 2004
Nalani Scharsh 2005
Clint Frakes 2006
Christy Passion 2007
Susan Soong 2008
Melanie Van der Tuin 2009
Eric Paul Shaffer 2010
Elsha Bohnert 2011
Susan Lee St. John 2012