English Department Faculty


The HPU English department has twelve full-time faculty members, along with an MCP English curricular liaison and several adjunct (part-time) faculty. 

Full-Time Faculty 2015-2016             

Name, Rank, Graduate Program Contact Information Scholarly Interests
Dr. Kathy Cassity

Cassity, Kathleen

Associate Professor of English and Chair

Ph.D. University of Hawai'i

MP 201-G

356-5235

kcassity@hpu.edu

Dr. Cassity's scholarly interests include writing pedagogy, creative nonfiction, 20th-century British literature, and postcolonial literature, especially of South Asia. She has published in Journal of Teaching Writing, Writing on the Edge, Expanded Perspectives on Learning, other journals, as well as chapters in several book collections. She is currently the English Department Chair.

Ms. Angela Gili

Gili, Angela

Instructor of English

M.A. University of Hawai'i

MP 201-B

544-0297

agili@hpu.edu

Ms. Gili is a doctoral candidate at University of Hawai'i. Her research focuses on postcolonial theory, contemporary detective fiction, and South African literature. She teaches the composition studies course and coordinates the peer tutors and the writing labs.
Dr. Laurie Leach

Leach, Laurie

Professor of English

Ph.D. Louisiana State University

MP 201-E

544-1103

lleach@hpu.edu

Dr. Leach's scholarly interests include American literature, ethnic literature, and the literature of slavery. Her articles have appeared in journals such as Biography, South Central Review, Studies in Literary History and LIT: Literature, Interpretation, Theory. She has published a biography of Langston Hughes.

Mr. Dave Mauricio

Mauricio, David

Instructor of English

M.A. University of Hawai'i

FS

356-2539

dmauricio@hpu.edu

Mr. Mauricio is a specialist in developmental writing, composition, and argument. His MA’s include Teaching English as a Second Language and Theatre of Southeast Asia.

Mr. Tyler McMahon

McMahon, Tyler

Associate Professor of English

M.F.A., Creative Writing, Boise State University, 2007

LB 507

544-1107

tmcmahon@hpu.edu

Tyler McMahon is the author of the novels Kilometer 99 (2014) and How the Mistakes Were Made (2011). His short fiction and essays have appeared inThree Penny Review, Antioch Review, The Rumpus, The Nervous Breakdown, and elsewhere.   He is also the advisor and instructor for Wanderlust and the editor of Hawaii Pacific Review. More info at www.tylermcmahon.net

Ms. Adele Ne Jame

Ne Jame, Adele

Assistant Professor of English

M.A. University of Hawai'i

MP 201-E

566-2413

anejame@hpu.edu

 

Author of the books Field Work, Land and Spirit, and South Wind, Ms. NeJame has received the Pablo Neruda Prize, a fellowship from the NEA, and prizes from the American Academy of Poets. 

Her poems have appeared in such journals as Poetry Kanto, American Nature Writing, The Denver Quarterly, Manoa, Ploughshares, and The Hawaii Pacific Review


Mr. Steve Robinson

Robinson, Steve

Instructor of English

MFA. California State Univ. Consortium

LB MEZZ 3

356-5240

srobinson@hpu.edu

Mr. Robinson specializes in composition and rhetoric and is currently working on a chapbook of poems. He has taught all levels of writing at HPU as well as the student literature magazine, Wanderlust.

Ross

Ross, Deborah

Professor of English

Ph.D.,  English, University of Rochester

LB 201-F

544-0297

dross@hpu.edu

Dr. Ross’s scholarship primarily concerns gender issues in both literary and pop culture narratives, especially Disney and Miyazaki. She has also published creative work in CT Review, Hawai‘i Pacific Review, and several on-line magazines.

Soong

Soong, Micheline

Associate Professor of English

Ph.D. UCLA

MP 201-F

544-0809

msoong@hpu.edu

Dr. Soong’s research interests include local literature of Hawai‘i, Asian-America literature, classical and modern Japanese and Chinese literatures, identity politics, and feminist theory.

Dr. Mark Tjarks

Tjarks, Mark

Professor of English

Ph.D. University of Hawai'i

MP 201-D

566-2445

mtjarks@hpu.edu

Dr. Tjarks’ research interests include creative writing, particularly scriptwriting, film, narrative theory, and modern drama. He is an award-winning playwright whose plays have been performed throughout the Hawaiian Islands and in Los Angeles and Houston.

Williams

Williams, Christy

Assistant Professor of English

Ph.D., University of Hawaii

MP 201-C

687-7029

cwilliams@hpu.edu

Dr. Williams specializes in fairy-tale studies and gender and narrative theory; she writes primarily fairy tales in on 20th and 21st century American literature and popular culture. Her articles have appeared in The Comparatist, Marvels & Tales and the collection Fairy Tale Film and Cinematic Folklore. She is co-editor of the book Beyond Adaptation: Essays on Radical Transformations of Original Works (2010).
Mr. Rob Wilson

Wilson, Robert

Instructor of English

544-0206

rwilson@hpu.edu

Mr. Wilson's background is in second-language acquisition and computer-assisted language learning. He is the Writing Curricular Area Liaison for HPU's Military Campus Programs.

Wood

Wood, Houston

Professor of English

Ph.D. University of Hawai'i

LB Mezz 4

544-1118

hwood@hpu.edu

Dr. Wood's textbook, Invitation to Peace Studies, was published in 2015. A companion anthology, Current Debates in Peace and Conflict Studies, will appear in 2016. Wood is also the author of: The Reality of Ethnomethodology, Displacing Natives: The Rhetorical Production of Hawai'i, and Native Features: Indigenous Films from Around the World.

Adjunct Faculty  Fall 2015: TBA

Bold courses are being taught in Fall 2014


 


Falgout

Falgout, David

dfalgout@hpu.edu WRI 1100, WRI 1200

Fillmore, Nicholas

nfillmore@hpu.edu

Kawai, Lisa

lkawai@hpu.edu
Olivieri, Susan
ltomchak

Tomchak, Laurie

ltomchak@hpu.edu WRI 1100, WRI 1200