English Department Faculty


The HPU English department has sixteen full-time faculty members and several adjunct (part-time) faculty. 

Full-Time Faculty 2013-2014                

Name, Rank, Graduate Program Contact Information Scholarly Interests
breitenfeldt.jpg

Breitenfeldt, Jeffrey

Instructor of English

M.A. Oregon State University

LB 7D

 jbreitenfeldt@hpu.edu

Mr. Breitenfeldt's research interests include information literacy instruction, new media composition, and the role of attention in digital rhetoric. He is a Writing Curriculum Area Liaison for the HPU Military Campus Programs. 
Dr. Kathy Cassity

Cassity, Kathleen

Associate Professor of English

Ph.D. University of Hawai'i

LB Mezz 4

356-5235

kcassity@hpu.edu

Dr. Cassity's scholarly interests include writing pedagogy, creative nonfiction, 20th-century British literature, and postcolonial literature, especially of South Asia. She has published in Writing on the Edge and other journals. She is the coordinator for first-year writing.

Ms. Angela Gili

Gili, Angela

Instructor of English

M.A. University of Hawai'i

LB 7 B

544-0297

agili@hpu.edu

Ms. Gili is a doctoral candidate at University of Hawai'i. Her research focuses on postcolonial theory, contemporary detective fiction, and South African literature. She teaches the composition studies course and coordinates the peer tutors.
Dr. Laurie Leach

Leach, Laurie

Professor of English

Ph.D. Louisiana State University

LB 7 C

544-1103

lleach@hpu.edu

Dr. Leach is the department chair for English. Her scholarly interests include American literature, ethnic literature, and the literature of slavery. Her articles have appeared in journals such as Biography, South Central Review, Studies in Literary History and LIT: Literature, Interpretation, Theory. She has published a biography of Langston Hughes.

Mr. Dave Mauricio

Mauricio, David

Instructor of English

M.A. University of Hawai'i

LB Mezz 3

356-2539

dmauricio@hpu.edu

Mr. Mauricio is a specialist in developmental writing, composition, and argument. His MA’s include Teaching English as a Second Language and Theatre of Southeast Asia.

Mr. Tyler McMahon

McMahon, Tyler

Associate Professor of English

M.F.A., Creative Writing, Boise State University, 2007

LB 7 A

544-1107

tmcmahon@hpu.edu

Tyler McMahon is the author of the novelsKilometer 99 (2014) and How the Mistakes Were Made (2011). His short fiction and essays have appeared inThree Penny Review, Antioch Review, The Rumpus, The Nervous Breakdown, and elsewhere. More info at www.tylermcmahon.net.

Ms. Adele Ne Jame

Ne Jame, Adele

Assistant Professor of English

M.A. University of Hawai'i

LB Mezz 3

566-2413

anejame@hpu.edu

on leave Fall 2012

Author of the books Field Work, Land and Spirit, and South Wind, Ms. NeJame has received the Pablo Neruda Prize, a fellowship from the NEA, and prizes from the American Academy of Poets. 

Her poems have appeared in such journals as Poetry Kanto, American Nature Writing, The Denver Quarterly, Manoa, Ploughshares, and The Hawaii Pacific Review

Dr. Andrew Opitz

Opitz, Andrew

Assistant Professor of English

Ph.D. University of Minnesota

LB 507

544-0812

aopitz@hpu.edu

Dr Opitz's interests include transatlantic literature, media studies, critical theory and the politics of satire and irony. He also writes about piracy and the Atlantic slave trade. He has written for journals such as Cultural Critique, Comparative Literature, Darkmatter, African American Review and Cultural Politics.
Mr. Steve Robinson

Robinson, Steve

Instructor of English

M.A. California State Univ. Consortium

LB 6

356-5240

srobinson@hpu.edu

Mr. Robinson specializes in composition and rhetoric and is currently working on a chapbook of poems. He has taught all levels of writing at HPU as well as the student literature magazine, Wanderlust.

Ross

Ross, Deborah

Professor of English

Ph.D.,  English, University of Rochester

LB 7 D

544-0297

dross@hpu.edu

Dr. Ross’s scholarship primarily concerns gender issues in both literary and pop culture narratives, especially Disney and Miyazaki. She has also published creative work in CT Review, Hawai‘i Pacific Review, and several on-line magazines.

Soong

Soong, Micheline

Associate Professor of English

Ph.D. UCLA

LB 507

544-0809

msoong@hpu.edu

Dr. Soong’s research interests include local literature of Hawai‘i, Asian-America literature, classical and modern Japanese and Chinese literatures, identity politics, and feminist theory.

Dr. Mark Tjarks

Tjarks, Mark

Associate Professor of English

Ph.D. University of Hawai'i

LB 6

566-2445

mtjarks@hpu.edu

Dr. Tjarks’ research interests include creative writing, particularly scriptwriting, film, narrative theory, and modern drama. He is an award-winning playwright whose plays have been performed throughout the Hawaiian Islands and in Los Angeles and Houston.

Williams

Williams, Christy

Assistant Professor of English

Ph.D., University of Hawaii

LB 507

687-7029

cwilliams@hpu.edu

Dr. Williams specializes in fairy-tale studies and gender and narrative theory; she writes primarily fairy tales in on 20th and 21st century American literature and popular culture. Her articles have appeared in The Comparatist, Marvels & Tales and the collectionFairy Tale Film and Cinematic Folklore. She is co-editor of the book Beyond Adaptation: Essays on Radical Transformations of Original Works (2010).
Dr. Patrice Wilson

Wilson, Patrice

Assistant Professor of English

Ph.D. University of Hawai'i

LB 7 A

544-1108

pwilson@hpu.edu

Dr. Wilson specializes in postcolonial literature and theory. Also a poet, she is the author of three chapbooks: When All Else Falters (2004), On Neither Side (2009) and A Different Current (2011). She is the editor of Hawai‘i Pacific Review and adviser to the English Honor Society, Sigma Tau Delta.
Mr. Rob Wilson

Wilson, Robert

Instructor of English

LB Mezz 3

544-0206

rwilson@hpu.edu

Mr. Wilson's background is in second-language acquisition and computer-assisted language learning. He is the Writing Curricular Area Liaison for HPU's Military Campus Programs.

Wood

Wood, Houston

Professor of English

Ph.D. University of Hawai'i

LB 6

544-1118

hwood@hpu.edu

Dr. Wood has published three books: The Reality of Ethnomethodology, Displacing Natives: The Rhetorical Production of Hawai'i , and Native Features: Indigenous Films from Around the World. His current research includes film studies and peace studies.

Adjunct Faculty  Spring 2013 

Bold courses are being taught in spring 2013 


Boomla, Sherine

 WRI 1050
Carreira Ching, Donald dcarreiraching@hpu.edu WRI 1100

Ching, April

WRI 1100

Davis, Sara

sldavis@hpu.edu

WRI 1050
Falgout

Falgout, David

dfalgout@hpu.edu WRI 1100, WRI 1200

Fillmore, Nicholas

nfillmore@hpu.edu WRI  1100, WRI 1200

Kawai, Lisa

lkawai@hpu.edu WRI 1050, WRI 1100, WRI 1200

Mitchell, Charles

cmitchell@hpu.edu WRI 1200
Olivieri, Susan WRI 1200

Risch, Marla

mrisch@hpu.edu WRI 1050, WRI 1100

Rugen, Brian

brugen@hpu.edu WRI 1100, WRI 1101, WRI 1100-ESL, WRI 1200  (Brian is not adjunct fauclty but FT in the department of Languages and Applied Linguistics)
ltomchak

Tomchak, Laurie

ltomchak@hpu.edu WRI 1100, WRI 1200
mwhitehorse

Whitehorse, Marilyn 

mwhitehorse@hpu.edu WRI 1100, WRI 1200