Multimedia

Media and Cinematic Arts Faculty

Full Time MCA Media and Cinematic Arts Faculty

Doctor Peter Britos

Peter Britos, Ph.D.
Director, Media and Cinematic Arts
Associate Professor
Teaching and research fields: Screenwriting, Critical Studies, Narrative Theory, Cinematic Production and Design.
Office & Phone: FC-101, (808) 544-0802 
E-mail: pbritos@hpu.edu

Brian Cannon

Brian Cannon, Ph.D.
Program Chair, Media and Cinematic Arts
Assistant Professor
Teaching and research fields: Communication Theory, Photojournalism, and Graphic Design.
Office & Phone: FC-101, (808) 544-0836
E-mail: bcannon@hpu.edu

Natalie Gauvin

Natalie Gauvin, M.A. 
(Formerly Natalie Lewis)
Visiting Instructor
Teaching and research fields: Digital Imaging, Interactive Media, Graphic Design and Web Design. 
Office & Phone: FC-101, (808) 543-8039
E-mail: nlewis@hpu.edu

Lewis Trusty

Lewis Trusty, M.B.A. & M.A.
Instructor, and First Look Media Fest Producer
Teaching and research fields: Photojournalism, Nonlinear Editing, Cinematography, Cinematic and Documentary Production.
Office & Phone: FS-101, (808) 566-2462
E-mail: ltrusty@hpu.edu

Adjunct Media and Cinematic Arts Faculty

Gemma Cubero

Gemma Cubero del Barrio, M.A.
Teaching and research field: Documentary Production, Photography, Producing, Writing.
E-mail: gcubero@hpu.edu 

James Hearon

James Hearon, M.A. 
Teaching and research field: Graphic Design, Media Design.
E-mail: jhearon@hpu.edu   

Nathan Kurosawa

William Quest Kennelly
Teaching and research fields: Motion Graphics and Animation
E-mail: wkennelly@hpu.edu 

Melissa Rivera

Melissa Rivera-Torres, M.A. & M.F.A.
Teaching and research fields: Mixed Media Production, Graphic Design, Product Design.
E-mail: mriverat@hpu.edu

Media and Cinematic Arts Affiliated Faculty

Doctor Matt George

Matthew George, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Teaching and research fields: Critical Studies, Cultural Studies, Gender Studies and Rhetoric.
Office & Phone: FS-212, (808) 566-2478
E-mail: mgeorge@hpu.edu

Doctor Serena Hashimoto

Serena Hashimoto, Ph.D.
MACOM Academic Advisor
Associate Professor
Teaching and research fields: Psychoanalytic Theory, Cultural Studies and Critical Studies.
Office & Phone: FS-210A, (808) 356-5230 
E-mail: shashimoto@hpu.edu

Doctor Sam Joseph

Sam Joseph, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Computer Science
Teaching and research fields: Computer Science, Cognitive Science and Natural Language,
Neural Networks, Interactive Learning Technologies, 3D Virtual Worlds, Web and Mobile Programming.

E-mail: sjoseph@hpu.edu

Tyler McMahon

Tyler McMahon, M.F.A
Assistant Professor
Director, Viewpoints Film Series
Teaching and research fields: Creative Writing, Narrative Design.
Office & Phone: LB-7A, (808) 544-1107
E-mail: tmcmahon@hpu.edu

Andy Opitz

Andy Opitz, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of English
Teaching and research fields: Transatlantic Literature, Media Studies, Critical Theory and the Politics of Satire and Irony.
Office & Phone: LB-507, (808) 356-5230 
E-mail: aopitz@hpu.edu

Doctor Mark Tjarks

Mark Tjarks, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Teaching and research fields: Creative Writing, Screenwriting and Critical Studies.
Office & Phone: FS-210, (808) 566-2447
E-mail: mtjarks@hpu.edu

Dr. Houston Wood

Houston Wood, Ph.D.
Professor
Teaching and research fields: Cinema History, Oceanic Film History and Critical Studies.
Office & Phone: BH-204, (808) 544-8111
E-mail: hwood@hpu.edu