COM faculty profiles

Full-Time Faculty


jb

John Barnum, Ph.D.
Mass Communication Program Chair
Associate Professor
Teaching and research fields: public relations, journalism, communication research.
Office & Phone: FS 212, (808) 544-0822
E-mail: jbarnum@hpu.edu

Pete Britos

Peter Britos, Ph.D.
Cinematic Production Program Chair
Associate Professor
Teaching and research fields: multimedia literacy, screenwriting, film and narrative theory.
Office & Phone: MP 139-B (Sharky's Cove), (808) 544-0802 
E-mail: pbritos@hpu.edu

db

Dale Burke, D.Min.
Assistant Professor
University Chaplain
Teaching and research fields: speech, interpersonal communication and religious studies.
Office & Phone: MP 408, (808) 544-9394
E-mail: dburke@hpu.edu

Dr. Lisa Chuang

Lisa Chuang, Ph.D.
BA-COM Program Chair
Integrated Multimedia Program Chair
Lecturer
Teaching and research fields: intercultural communication, computer mediated communication, social media, music as rhetoric.
Office and Phone:  FS 308, (808) 544-0831
E-mail:  lchuang@hpu.edu

Tim Fallis

Timothy Fallis, Ph.D.
MA-COM Program Chair
Assistant Professor
Teaching and research fields: rhetoric and persuasion in the areas of political advertising and religious/social organizations.
Office & Phone: FS 205, (808) 544-0824
E-mail:  tfallis@hpu.edu

jh

John Hart, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Communication
Professor
Teaching and research fields: media criticism, persuasion, rhetoric, argumentation, and debate.
Office & Phone: FS 214, (808) 544-0805
E-mail: jhart@hpu.edu

sh

Serena Hashimoto, Ph.D
Associate Professor
Teaching and research fields: psychoanalytic theory, cultural studies, and film studies.
Office & Phone: FS 210B, (808) 356-5230
E-mail: shashimoto@hpu.edu

ml

Marianne Luken, M.A.
Instructor
Teaching and research fields: intercultural and interpersonal communication studies.
Office & Phone: FS 310, (808) 544-0875
E-mail: mluken@hpu.edu

am

AnnMarie Manzulli, M.A.
Senior Lecturer
Teaching and research fields: advertising and public relations.
Office & Phone: MP 408, (808) 544-0829
E-mail:  amanzulli@hpu.edu

lt

Lewis Trusty, M.B.A. & M.A.
Instructor
Teaching and research fields: photojournalism, video production and documentary film making.
Office & Phone: MP 139-D (Sharky's Cove), (808) 566-2462
E-mail: ltrusty@hpu.edu

jw

James D. Whitfield, Ed.D. 
Professor
Teaching and research fields: public relations, organizational communication, and journalism.
Office & Phone: FS 210, (808) 543-8044
E-mail: jwhitfield@hpu.edu

Dr. Helen Varner

Helen Varner, Ph.D.
Emeritus of Department of Communication

JM

Jeannie Manzano
Administrative Assistant
Department of Communication
Office & Phone: FS 210, (808) 543-8044
E-mail: jmanzano@hpu.edu


Meet our adjunct faculty too!