COM faculty profiles

Full-Time Faculty


jb

John Barnum, Ph.D.
Advertising, Public Relations, and Journalism Program Chair
Associate Professor
Teaching and research fields: public relations, journalism, communication research.
Office & Phone: FS 212, (808) 544-0822
E-mail: jbarnum@hpu.edu


pb

Peter Britos, Ph.D.
Director of Media Arts
Associate Professor
Teaching and research fields: multimedia literacy, screenwriting, film and narrative theory.
Office & Phone: FC 101, (808) 544-0802 
E-mail: pbritos@hpu.edu


db

Dale Burke, D.Min.
BA-COM Program Chair
Assistant Professor
University Chaplain
Teaching and research fields: speech, interpersonal communication and religious studies.
Office & Phone: MP 408, (808) 544-9394
E-mail: dburke@hpu.edu


bc

 Brian Cannon, Ph.D.
Multimedia Program Chair
Assistant Professor
Teaching and research fields: photojournalism and graphic design.
Office & Phone: FC 101, (808) 544-0836
E-mail: bcannon@hpu.edu


td

Thomas Dowd, M.A.
Debate Coach
Visiting Instructor
Teaching and research fields: debate, and communication theory.
Office & Phone: FS 302, (808) 544-9378
E-mail: tdowd@hpu.edu

ng

Natalie Gauvin, M.A. 
(Formerly Natalie Lewis)
Visiting Instructor
Teaching and research fields: multimedia, graphic design, and web design. 
Office & Phone: FC 101, (808) 543-8039
E-mail: ngauvin@hpu.edu

jh

John Hart, Ph.D.
Chair, Department of Communication
Professor
Teaching and research fields: media criticism, persuasion, rhetoric, argumentation, and debate.
Office & Phone: FS 214, (808) 544-0805
E-mail: jhart@hpu.edu


sh

Serena Hashimoto, Ph.D
Associate Professor
Teaching and research fields: psychoanalytic theory, cultural studies, and film studies.
Office & Phone: FS 210B, (808) 356-5230
E-mail: shashimoto@hpu.edu


Jonghwa Lee

JongHwa Lee, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Teaching and research fields: intercultural and international communication.
Office & Phone: FS 308, (808) 544-0831
E-mail: jlee@hpu.edu

ml

Marianne Luken, M.A.
Instructor
Teaching and research fields: intercultural and interpersonal communication studies.
Office & Phone: FS 310, (808) 544-0875
E-mail: mluken@hpu.edu


am

AnnMarie Manzulli, M.A.
Visiting Instructor
Teaching and research fields: advertising and public relations.
Office & Phone: FS 310, (808) 544-0829
E-mail:  amanzulli@hpu.edu

ms

Malia Smith, Ed.D.
Assistant Professor
Teaching and research fields: public relations and advertising.
Office & Phone: FS 210, (808) 544-0819
E-mail: msmith@hpu.edu


lt

Lewis Trusty, M.B.A. & M.A.
Instructor
Teaching and research fields: photojournalism, video production and documentary film making.
Office & Phone: FC 101, (808) 566-2462
E-mail: ltrusty@hpu.edu

jw

James D. Whitfield, Ed.D. 
MA-COM Program Chair
Professor
Teaching and research fields: public relations, organizational communication, and journalism.
Office & Phone: MP 405, (808) 544-0824
E-mail: jwhitfield@hpu.edu


jwin

 John Windrow, M.A.
Kalamalama Faculty Advisor
Instructor
Teaching and research fields: journalism, media law and ethics.
Office & Phone: UP 208, (808) 687-7030
E-mail: jwindrow@hpu.edu


hv

Helen Varner, Ph.D.
Emeritus of Department of Communication


JM

Jeannie Manzano
Administrative Assistant
Department of Communication
Office & Phone: FS 210, (808) 543-8044
E-mail: jmanzano@hpu.edu


Meet our adjunct faculty too!