Department of Communication

Hawaii Pacific University Department of Communication Advisory Council

The HPU Communication Advisory Council (CAC) is an integrative forum where students, faculty and important professionals in our community discuss topics related to current Department of Communication programs. Many ideas from previous meetings have aided in the enhancement of the educational experience HPU provides.  Members of the Communication Advisory Council are hand-selected from Department of Communication faculty, students and representatives of Hawaii’s leading communication-related companies and organizations.

The CAC meets yearly to provide external program review of the Department of Communication’s course offerings, curriculum and design of majors.  Current communication industry members are listed below.

Council Members

Mr. Rick Blangiardi - General Manager, Hawaii News Now

Mr. Chuck Boller - Executive Director, Hawaii International Film Festival

Mr. Kevin Bumgarner - Editor, Pacific Business News

Mr. Bob Charlet - Publisher, Pacific Business News

Mr. Chuck Cotton - Vice President & General Manager, Clear Channel Hawai'i

Ms. Patti Epler - Editor, Honolulu Civil Beat & Huffington Post Hawaii

Mr. Kerry Gershaneck - Director of Governmental & Public Relations, Pacific Forum CSIS

Ms. Olena Heu – Reporter, KHON 2

Ms. Marylou Foley – Director of Community Outreach, Waikiki Aquarium

Mr. Stafford Kiguchi – Senior  Vice President & Corporation Communications Manager, Bank of Hawaii

Ms. Kitty Lagareta – President, Communications Pacific

Ms. Kristina Lockwood - President & General Manager, KHON-TV

Ms. Sherry Menor-McNamara - COO & Senior Vice President, Government Affairs, Chamber of Commerce of Hawaii

Mr. William Meyer III - Attorney, Dwyer Schraff Meyer Grant & Green

Ms. Anne Murata - Director of Marketing & Busines Development, Pacific Aviation Museum

Ms. Barbara Pleadwell – Partner, Hastings & Pleadwell Communications & Public Relations

Mr. J. Kenneth Sanders - Chairman, Co-founder, President, Ocean Network

Ms. Georja Skinner - Chief Officer, Creative Industries Division Department of Business, Economic Development & Tourism

Mr. Lance Tanaka - Manager, Government Relations & Public Affairs, Tesoro Hawaii Corp.

Ms. Barbara Whitman – President, BJW Public Relations